20 Things I Used To Take For Granted

There are times when I realize that I took a lot of my life in the States for granted.

I want to try and use my time living in India as a learning experience not only for other’s and my family, but also for myself.
 
So made this short list and even though some of them seem pretty trivial, trust me, after some time without them you realize that sometimes it’s the small things that you miss the most.

And that’s when you realize just how much of your life you took for granted.
  1. 24/7 Water
  2. 24/7 Electricity
  3. Drinking water from the tap
  4. Lazy afternoons at the park
  5. The Beach
  6. Hot Bubble Baths
  7. Carl Jr.’s  Chicken Jalapeño Sandwich
  8. My Car
  9. Long quiet drives at night
  10. The sound of rain on a tin roof
  11. Understanding what people are saying ALL THE TIME
  12. Not being stared at
  13. People who (a good percentage of the time anyway) followed the rules and laws
  14. Driver’s driving between the lanes
  15. Good roads
  16. Clean roads
  17. Skiing
  18. Constant Internet
  19. Customer Service Departments who actually fixed your issues
  20. My Family
6 thoughts on “20 Things I Used To Take For Granted

  1. I can relate to so many of these. I think a lot about the little things I miss and how I packed all wrong for this move lol. Some of those little things I wish I had brought with me. My list is a little different than yours but the principle is still the same. Some things I really don’t need but oh the comfort they could provide if only they were here.

    I miss the rain on a tin roof too but one thing I did notice, the sound of rain here falling on the terrace can be soothing as well. Of course it’s only noticeable at night when everyone is asleep and no one is blasting music. I relish the moments I can lol.

    • You said it sister! If I could go back to when I was packing my luggage, I would have heaped in the Mac and Cheese and Italian seasonings and so many other things that I’m missing and didn’t list. I shipped my books and keepsakes which arrived like two months later and that made a huge difference but still…..

      😉

  2. I very much identify with these simple things that are taken for granted living in America. The sense of missing starts at Mumbai airport (which is where I often disembark). The stares begin as one exits the terminal. The humid/polluted air that hits you as you walk out reminds you that you are not in beautiful Pennsylvania (for me anyway). Then you have self-appointed porters who try to grab a hold of your bags (if you are not alert) and take them to your taxi. Then they demand payment for unnecessary and intrusive services rendered.

    Nevertheless, the joy of meeting some of the people you love outside the airport makes all the temporal discomforts worthwhile.
    I’m planning to visit Mumbai sometime in September. This time my wife can’t take time off. If I do so, I would love to meet you and your spouse.

    Regards,
    Glenn

    • Exactly Glenn….there are some things that just compensate for what you might be lacking from home in your new place. But there are those things that nothing can replace and that you can only get back home. I guess it’s just a toss up as to what’s really important. I now know what is really important and it’s not the material crap I thought it would be and what I lugged half way around the world to keep with me.

      Let us know when your coming and we’ll see if we can meet up! Take care!

  3. Yesterday evening I had kind of similar thoughts. More or less out of the nowhere.
    Reading this list makes you wonder how life would be without those standarts we definitely take for granted – as if they really were standart and it wasn’t a big deal having such a life.
    We should count ourselves lucky.

    Enjoy your time in India.

    • Thanks for the comment Notesfromromeo! I always love to hear from new people, especially when they give such a great insight as yours! I’m enjoying India as much as India will allow me to enjoy….she’s sometimes a fickle gal that India is. 😉 Take care and hope to hear from you again!

Speak Your Mind!

