Kabhī kabhī it’s the little things…

 

Also known as “Sometimes it’s the little things”.

I recently made a small trip back to the states to clear up some personal issues that required my presence.

While I was home, I made several shopping trips to the Grocery store. At the time, I thought it was just to pick up a few things that I would like to have with me in India.

Now I realize that these few small things are making a huge difference in my mental well-being.

Like I said in my earlier post, I found that when I returned I suffered from extreme anxiety. Whether it was from the shortness of my trip (not being able to refresh and replenish) or from returning right in the midst of heavy humidity…is still not clear. But seeing a Doctor helped a lot in allaying my fears that there was something wrong with my body.

Now I realize that having these few small comforts from back home, that I can use in my daily life here in India will go a long way in making me feel better and less anxious.

And being who I am, naturally most of these few small items were food.

🙂

So, let’s begin.

First off, I got a few Tuna Helper boxes. Since I can get Sunkist Tuna here easily, I was really missing the comfort of a Tuna Helper meal. I also got a few cans of white breast meat chicken in a can and some Chicken Helper as well (this is all gone now).

Being a HUGE lover of Kosher Dill Pickles and NOT finding any here that taste remotely like what I’m used to, I debated on bringing a few jars of pickles home with me. However, seeing as how rough the airlines can be on luggage and not having had time to get bubble wrap, I decided to not get any. And THEN…as if by a miracle straight from Heaven, I found these the day before I left…

Right beside those little wonders, you’ll see two lovely boxes of Angel Hair pasta. I’ve been really hard pressed to find that here too and usually have to make do either with regular Spaghetti (which I do not like) or elbow macaroni (which will do in a pinch).

On the other side of the petite dills is a box of Pasta Salad which is a little luxury of mine and I haven’t had it in forever and a day.

While I was home, I was re-introduced to the wonders of Mrs. Dash. My Dad loves to make scrambled eggs with Mrs. Dash and adds cheese. We had it almost every morning I was home, so I also got myself a version that I thought Bear would like (Garlic and Herb).

And finally…I absolutely positively was NOT coming home without some Hazelnut flavored Coffee Creamer, so I bought three of these little beauty’s in powder form…

Not to mention that while I was in Walmart, I found some music on sale and got that too.

Now I can add Gotye Anthology, the Panic! At the Disco that I was missing and the newer Maroon 5.

Look out neighbors!

Like I said, sometimes it’s the little things that can make all the difference.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to have a cup of Hazelnut flavored coffee while listening to Panic! at full volume!

© 2012 GoriRajkumari. All rights reserved.

 

4 thoughts on “Kabhī kabhī it’s the little things…

  1. I felt the same as you. I had care packages sent to me with things in them like those orange gummy slices which I only ate once in a blue moon here in the states and skittles (before I found them in India). It is amazing what actually matters after you get there. You can pack all the new clothes, make-up, and electronics you want but at the end of the day, it’s that soft blanket, silky pj’s or favorite snack food that makes you feel the best.

  2. Oh yea! I hear ya on the little things making a difference, familly members visiting me know that they can go easy on the chocolate (can find swiss chcolate in India) but that they HAVE absolutely HAVE to bring me a few tubes of liver paste bread spread, I Love that stuff and I miss it terribly in India, a slice of bread with my meaty spread on it and I feeling all good again on a gloom day. now the problem is I run out of it fast 😦
    Another I need to remember to ask next time someone comes is “cenovis” which is a brewer’s yeast paste our Aussie freind call vegemite and our British friends call marmite…darn I miss that stuff sometimes, not as much as the liver paste though but still.

    • Oh yeah Cyn! We used to have Liverwurst, onion and mustard sandwiches when we were growing up! My friends hated it and thought it was disgusting but man…I LOVED IT!

      Sounds like it’s time for some of your family to send a care package! 😉

      • nah the custom raid the care packages.
        my dad sent two that never came, stuff for my daughter, nothing edible or valuable, but 4 months later still no sight of the first one he sent

Speak Your Mind!

