Spaghetti Kitchen and Sula Wine

In a bid to get me out and start enjoying life again, Bear and our neighbor S took me to Amanora Town Center for a bit of shopping and dinner at a restaurant there that we had yet to try.

S is a huge foodie, possibly more so that I am! And it’s usually due to S that we find some new place to eat or food to try.

Also, S is Bear’s best chaat eating buddy and they are forever trying to find the best chaat on this side of Pune.

So this time we went to Spaghetti Kitchen with a few other friends of ours. You can see their menu here.

The décor was lovely, inviting, rustic and bright. I loved the warm orange colors. It reminded me of a little garden Italian restaurant in California that I used to love going to.

So, we had a good beginning.

I also decided to “celebrate” Bear and my anniversary with a glass of wine. I rarely drink, maybe once or twice a year and even then I prefer something fruity or a Corona with lime.

This time I went for Sula Chenin Blanc. A light and fruity sweeter white wine, it went perfectly with the mood, our friends and the Sea Bass I ordered. I learned that Sula is a Nashik Maharashtra Winery opened in 1993 with accolades even from the Times of India.

So let’s start…

First, they had a plethora of sauces on the table, including my all time favorite of Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar.

The waiter brought out a basket of warm and fresh bread and crunchy herby bread sticks. I ate almost all the warm bread myself, just happily dipping it into my Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar mix. YUM!

For appetizer’s we had the Three Cheese Garlic Roll and the Parmesan Cream Cheese Baby Potato’s. The Garlic Bread was good but nothing out of the ordinary. But the Parmesan Cream Cheese Baby’ Potato’s were a HUGE hit! So perfectly seasoned and creamy and yummy goodness were those potatoes’s that it was gone before we finished the Garlic Bread!

For the main course, I had the Pan Seared Atlantic Sea Bass. It was lovely and light and melted in my mouth. The black olive and mashed potato mix and herbed veggies that went with it were perfectly cooked and only needed a little salt. The sauce for the Sea Bass was a citrus olive butter with a slight mushroom flavor. Delicious!

Bear had the Tabouleh Salad and at first I was a little worried whether he would like it or not. They remembered to remove the tomatoes since my husband HATES them with a passion. Bear took a tentative bite and then dug in. He said it was probably the best “salad” he had ever eaten. I tried it and found it to be a light and refreshing salad with a big punch on taste.

Our friends had the Chicken Lasagna which I tried and found even better than I would have thought. I am not a big fan of Lasagna because I do not like ricotta cheese or the heavy pasta that usually used to make it. However they went very light on the ricotta cheese and the pasta layer was a thin spinach sheet that was perfectly balanced with the sauce and chicken. Again…another winner dish!

S got a small salad and a thin crust vegetarian pizza. I didn’t try this as I was already full, but the general consensus was that while it was “good” it wasn’t anything to write home about.

The service was impeccable, on time and friendly. Although their card servers were down, there was an ATM right outside so that worked out. The other reviews I’ve read seemed to have this as a re-occurring problem for Spaghetti Kitchen Amanora.

I can definitely say that this is a place we’ll go back to!

Check it out the next time you’re in the area and in the mood for some terrific Italian!

© 2012 GoriRajkumari. All Rights Reserved.

One thought on “Spaghetti Kitchen and Sula Wine

  1. That’s it! You’ve convinced me to try this place out! I guess I’ll return the favor as well. If you like your chocolate you should try out this place called ‘A Chocolate Affair’ at Koregaon Park. You may or may not like it but it certainly has a lot of chocolate on the menu.

Speak Your Mind!

