What Not to Bring…

Recently I did a piece on what you should know before moving to India.

It mostly dealt with what to look for when finding the right place to live and some pieces of advice that I wish I had gotten when I moved but never knew to ask.

Today we’re going to touch on another topic, but this is the reverse. Not what to bring with you but rather what NOT to bring.

CLOTHES:

You think I’m joking? I’m really not.

Sure, bring some of your favorite pieces or at least a week’s worth of change. But otherwise don’t bring anything more than that.

Why?

Well, for one, it’s really easy to find western wear clothes here and for really cheap. And secondly (probably most importantly) you’ll find you feel more comfortable wearing cotton clothes bought here. I’m talking heat/humidity here people. It’s horrid. It’s nearly year round. The light cotton kurta’s and kameez are so much more comfortable and airy then our heavier cotton clothes sold in the US.

The other side of the coin is that you’ll feel less “judged” if you go out for a shopping trip in some Indian pieces or a full Salwar Kameez. It’s just that simple. Yes, plenty of girls here wear jeans and tops. But you are going to be a firangi and you’ll be judged by Aunties for those same clothes, so just to save some sanity and have a judgmental free shopping trip, occasionally wear Indian clothes.

Bring ALL of your unmentionables. Trust me. I’ve found them here and don’t like them. I always replenish when I’m back in the states for this.

Leave the hose. I can’t think of anytime I would want to wear those here and not feel like I’m dying from heat.

DO BRING a few winter items as most places in India do have a “winter” although it’s milder in some areas and actually get’s snow in others. Depending on where you go is how much you should bring. I brought three days of winter clothes changes and I think I’ve worn one of my sweaters twice the three years I’ve been here. One of those times I was sick with a fever and feeling cold. ::shrugs::

SHOES:

Yes, I just said don’t bring all your shoes. Yes, I do know that is sacrilegious and totally against girl code.

But let me tell you, after crying over my ruined, moldy little pretties, I’ve decided it wasn’t worth the money to ship them here.

The roads were not made for walking in heels here. There aren’t really sidewalks like you have in the states. Bring a few favorite pairs if you must but be ready for them to get scuffed or the heel to break. Much wiser to bring just any sandals you have, a good pair of tennis shoes and then buy all new pretties suitable for walking in India.

Did I mention the mold? ::shudder::

SOME ELECTRONICS:

I’m not saying you won’t need your hair dryer here or that you can’t use your blender. What I am saying is that to use them here, you’ll have to buy a current converter and there is nothing more a pain in the patootie then having to plug those things in everywhere. You can get all that stuff here.

Except maybe some game consoles…X-Box JUST came out here AND if you get the Asia release console you cannot play your US release games (in most cases). So I suggest at least bringing that. You can get the plug changed and then buy a converter box that’s the size of a small shoe box but required.

DO NOT try to use the normal plug converter unless you want blow up your power box. (Been there….done that).

Basically, most things for the home and your personal care can be purchased here. Unless you plan on moving here and never ever-moving back, my suggestion would be to NOT ship your antiques or Grandmother’s china.

I made the mistake of shipping some of that. One important piece was broken. The rest is fine, but when we move back I’m going to lose it trying to be ABSOLUTELY SURE that this time nothing get’s broken.

I wish I would have stored these items at my parent’s house or a storage center near a family member who could check it and make the payments for me.

SUMMATION:

The next few months will be me doing inventory and preparing to pack for our move back. As I do this, I’ll come across more things that will make me think “Why on earth did I bring this???” and when I do, I’ll write an update.

I hope this helps you!

© 2012 GoriRajkumari. All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “What Not to Bring…

  1. I just like the helpful info you provide for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more right here frequently. I am quite certain I will be told many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the following!

  2. On the clothes thing I would say it really depends, because the western wear sizes in India is mostly sian size, I’m a size M or L depending the clothes back home, and here there are times where XL is too small, so bringing a few good basics from home pays off, especially for pants. I’ve been living in India for nearly 9 years, I rarely wear a whole salwaar suit anymore, I prefer short cotton kurti worn with capri and yup even shorts, these old aunties can go hide if they want 🙂 I became immune to the stink eye LOL, in places that require a more traditional outfit I now tend to wear those “stretch churidars” that are the latest fashion, along with a kurta and during the winter I wear the churidars inside my home with just a soft comfy sweater.
    Another reason I would bring as many pants and bottom as possible is that in India women’s casual wear always mean jeans, and in this heat I say no thanks to that, there is little in matter of light linen pants, cotton pants and capri and when you find it, you better not have too much hips as the sizes rarely go above a size 30-32 for the waist

Speak Your Mind!

